Pinterest Challenge

Two of my favorite bloggers, Sherry from Young House Love & Katie from Bower Power host a seasonal blogging event called the Pinterest Challenge! This time around they are also joined by other bloggers Kate & Michelle.

Basically, it’s an excuse to take something you’ve pinned from Pinterest & actually make/create it.

I’ve been needing a summer project to work on, so this event came around at the perfect time! Chris suggested I make some new pillows for our couch, so I pinned this post from Sew, Mama, Sew that’s all things pillows. Perfect! It’s odd that I’ve never made a pillow because it was by far the EASIEST thing I’ve ever sewn.

The fabric: bright & summery

I bought two pillow forms, an 18” x 18” and a 16” x 16”. So I cut my fabric according to the directions. Honestly, this was the most time consuming part.

3 pieces

3 more pieces

Since the style pillow I was making was a envelope-style, the two pieces on the back would overlap, so I had to hem the edges of those pieces.

Hemmed Edges

Then I pinned & sewed all three pieces together, based on the instructions in the post, and stuffed in the pillow form. Done in about 45 minutes total!

Green Pillow

Yellow + Orange Pillow

Pillow friends

These were super quick & easy to make! If you’re interested in learning to sew, these would be a GREAT place to start! I love the fun color they add to our couch and living room. Thanks for the motivation, Pinterest Challenge!

xoxo

Ash

7 responses

  1. I LOVE those fabrics!! You did a great job on the pillows! I wish I could find cute modern fabrics like those at stores around me. It’s a no-go around here. Just old lady prints and I’m always afraid to order fabric off the internet. 🙂 Anyway, thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Pingback: Foody Friday/Pinterest Challenge | Wats (going) On…

  3. Pingback: Pinterest Challenge: Counting the Weeks | Wats (going) On...

Leave a Reply

