So, we started a book club…

No, we’re not a bunch of old ladies, we’re a group of 20-somethings who started a book club. A  month or so ago a friend tweeted about wanting to start one, my friend Jessie and I agreed, made a group on Facebook to see who else would be interested, and had our first meeting today. The rest is history.

ImageThe first book we read was Kisses From Katie. While it wasn’t my favorite book, I’ll focus on the positive things. She’s a deeply religious young woman, who, after being called upon by God, decided to give up her “perfect” Tennessee life and move to Uganda. Initially, she intended on staying for a year to teach Kindergarten, but ended up staying and adopting more than a dozen children. This book is her story.

I’m not a terribly religious person, so there was a lot of this book that I couldn’t connect with because through each story about her own life, she relates it back to a verse/story in the Bible. I can, however, appreciate wanting to change the world and doing so through loving, teaching, and taking care of less-fortunate children.

I encourage you to check out her website, blog, and store There’s no doubt that this young woman has a huge heart and a desire to make the world a better place. I am interested to follow her story to see how her ministry grows and progresses. I may even help her out through a donation or sponsorship.

If you’re looking for an easy read or just want to be inspired to make the world a better place, give this book a try.

Looking forward to our next book club meeting next month!

Have you read any good books lately that could be a possibility for a future meeting?

xoxo

Ash

Leave a comment