First Trimester: Zombieland

So my first trimester with baby #2 is officially over.  In a word, it’s been exhausting.

When I was pregnant with Elodie, I was only taking 2 classes at KSU and working part-time doing after-school tutoring. I could fit in a nap most days, and aside from the 4+ months of throwing up on a daily basis, it was manageable.

This time around…our life is totally different. I teach ALL DAY (extended day with no planning, only a 26-28 minute break for lunch) and we have a busy toddler to chase around after work. Chris has class 2 nights a week, so I pick Elodie up from her baby-sitters & the two of us are on our own for the evening. And lately, with all the house hunting we’ve been doing, it seems like all our free time is filled with all sorts of weird schedules. (We are under contract with a house (!!!), by the way, but more on that later).

Elodie goes to bed around 7:30 in the evenings, and I’ve been passing out on the couch shortly thereafter.  I’ve never been more exhausted in my life. I seriously feel like I’m a zombie.

Around 11 weeks, I woke up & definitely felt more pregnant.

Around 11 weeks, I woke up & definitely felt more pregnant.

Our apartment is a mess, my classroom is a mess, and I feel like my life is a mess.

The weekends are somewhat of a relief for all of us because my mom usually comes over to keep Elodie entertained, while Chris and I  try and get our place in order/write lesson plans, I squeeze in a nap, etc. Luckily, Elodie & Gigi love spending time together, so this is a good arrangement for everyone.

On St. Patty's Day--12.5 weeks pregnant

On St. Patty’s Day–12.5 weeks pregnant

The only thing better this time around is the nausea. I feel a little sick in the mornings, but usually as soon as I eat something it goes away. My appetite is a little off, but it’s not nearly as bad as it was with Elodie. Although, the past couple of days, it seems to have gotten worse and I’ve actually been throwing up. I’m hoping it gets worse before it gets better very.quickly, right?

Rockin' all my maternity clothes--12 weeks 6 days

Rockin’ all my maternity clothes–12 weeks 6 days

As this first trimester comes to an end, I’m hoping I start feeling a little more like myself. I’m certainly not looking like myself. My belly has definitely “popped.” I told my students around 11 weeks that I was pregnant, and they all graciously responded with  “we know, Mrs. Watson. Your belly was getting bigger, but nothing else was… and we know you run, so we figured you were pregnant.” I just appreciate them not saying anything sooner 🙂 I teach 9th graders, by the way, so it’s pretty impressive that they didn’t burst sooner!

I’m pretty much only wearing maternity clothes, with a belly band thing for my pants that don’t button, so there’s that.

13 weeks!

13 weeks!

I have an appointment today to check on the babe, and hopefully during my appointment next month, we can find out the gender! I’m so excited to find out!! My students are dying to know 😉

xoxo

Ash

PS: Happy birthday to my MOM!! Love you!! ❤

2 responses

Leave a Reply

